Checking In At: Brisbane, Queensland

image

I’ve spent the past couple of days enjoying Brisbane with old friends and new. The days have flown by and I don’t think i’ve even seen half of this lovely city so I will definitely be back for another visit!

I arrived at Brisbane Airport Thursday morning… my luggage however did not! I handed in my details with the lovely staff, who helped me along with a washbag and a bit of cash for essentials and off I went not knowing when or if it would arrive… Amazingly it arrived only hours later at my AirBnb!! I’m not entirely sure what happened there, as it seems to quick for it to arrive on a seperate plane, so maybe it had got caught up somewhere… but I am extremely lucky and thankful that it turned up so quickly!

The evening was spent with my friend Elise who I met at work in London when it was her turn to travel to the otherside of the country. It was so nice to see her and have a long overdue catch up in person! We strolled along Southbank, eating delicious discoveries from the current Noodle Market they have there… FYI I didn’t actually have noodles, cheesy chicken spring rolls which taste like a cheeseburger! And a waffle on a stick!

It gets dark here really early! Considering it was a BEAUTIFUL day, sunny and at least 23 degrees, by 5.30pm it was pitch black. And it does this all year round because they don’t have daylight saving here… so now it is winter, but even during summer it’s still dark at 5.30pm. I find that odd! It feels like your day is cut short and that you should be heading home to bed. On the other hand it is light at 5am. But considering I am no morning person, i can’t see myself getting up that early too often!

Thursday night I slept… and considering there was an 18th birthday party going on upstairs, I slept solidly and soundly (with the help of earplugs) right into Friday morning.. where I also slept for a long while…. I needed that sleep! And I don’t want to jinx it, but it seems that that is as far as my jetlag goes! I actually feel really good! … I think it will be a whole other story when I get back to England.

I think i’ll leave this tale here for now… or this post may get really long… so… To Be Continued…

xoxo

Leave a Reply

